Home / About Us / Our Council Members

Our Council Members

The Council’s three members are listed below. The primary role of the Council Members is to elect Council Directors and approve amendments to the Council’s constitution. The primary accountability of Council Directors is to the Council Members.

Ian Hardy AM

Ian Hardy was Chief Executive of Helping Hand Aged Care in South Australia from 1990 to 2019. One of the state’s largest aged care providers, Helping Hand built and piloted the first ‘ageing-in-place’ care facility in Australia and is well known for innovation in rehabilitation, hospital avoidance, mental health and social support services for older people.

He is a former member of the Boards of the Northern Adelaide Medicare Local, the Repatriation General Hospital in Adelaide and the International Association of Homes and Services for the Ageing (Washington DC), and of the South Australian Ministerial Advisory Board on Ageing and the State Disability Advisory Board. He was a member of the Reference Group for the Commonwealth’s Hogan Pricing Review of aged care and of the Australian Government’s Ministerial Advisory Committee on Community Care.

In 2008 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). He undertook a Churchill Fellowship tour to investigate ‘consumer-directed’ aged care in the UK, Europe and Japan in 2008.

Between 2015-2018 he was a member of the Commonwealth’s Technical Advisory Group for the preparation of the new Aged Care Standards.

In 2018 Ian was appointed Chair of the Aged Services Industry Reference Committee.

John Hill

Following a career as a schoolteacher, John became ALP state secretary 1994-1997, and member for Kaurna 1997-2014. John held several portfolios under South Australian Premiers Rann and Weatherill, most notably as Minister for Health for seven years.

John retired from the Cabinet in 2013 and Parliament in 2014 and is now enjoying his third and ‘encore’ career as a member of various boards – including ACH Group, Bellberry Ltd, the SA Institute of Educational Leadership and the SALA Festival.

John also chairs the University of South Australia’s Sci/C/Ed Start-up Program Steering Committee.

Dr Anne Jones

Anne has been a senior leader across the vocational, higher and adult, community and further education sectors for over 16 years.

Anne has extensive experience in leading on campus and workplace-based education delivery for many industry sectors – including aged care, with demonstratable expertise in establishing curriculum pathways, learning design and skills development.

Anne has been responsible for vocational and higher education policy and strategy at Box Hill Institute, Victoria University, Chisholm Institute, including quality assurance and compliance oversight.

Most recently, Anne has been engaged to undertake consulting and research activities based on her knowledge and experience in vocational and higher education.